An assured interview with a star character in the Don’t Close Your Eyes series was placed on hold due to unexpected internet disconnection. On vacation in another state last week, I began the rough draft of my interview with Jase Taylor only to discover that there was no way to publish it.

Rather than throw the frustrating temper tantrum I felt at a situation beyond my control, I had an impulse I’d been running from as a scorned author facing a life she’d been forced to walk away from. Instead of turning on the TV for an escape, I grabbed my Kindle instead.

I’d already had a more than frustrating trip to Barnes and Noble to try to find the right kind of mysterious intrigue and noir romance I was seeking, but to my dismay, I left empty-handed and irritated. Where was the cure for what the repressed reader inside me was seeking?

There’d been another time I’d asked that question. Four years ago. Don’t Close Your Eyes was born from my frustration as a reader who was tired of reading paranormal series back and forth to get that dangerous romance fix. I was tired of predictable plots and mysteries I solved before being halfway through a book. In short, I’d grown as a reader, and I longed for intrigue and complexity that I could believe. I wanted twists and turns so great, even I, a reading detective couldn’t predict, but that would also be a joy to read. An adventure.

For the first time in over two years, I thumbed through my kindle while the rain poured outside the window. Every invitation was there. Klive and Kinsley sucked me into a world I thought I’d put away forever after really intense stalking issues from my previous stint as an author forced me into hiding.

I’m not an idiot. I’d written the story for my reader’s mind. MINE. I’d never intended to share. It was a fun read.

Others fell in love, too, but after two years of breaking, a copy editing certification, years of learning what I hadn’t known when I’d initially written it, I expected to cringe with disgust. In essence, I was facing a great fear of failure just opening it.

Five books later, I’m sucked into this hypnotic underworld of a story that seems so real, you come out of it and remind yourself that – oh, yeah, there’s life out there.

Jase Taylor’s interview has been re-scheduled for June 24th, and I am so excited. Between him, Klive, Kins, and the rest, I feel like I’m coming back into the presence of old friends I’ve missed for far too long. Fortunately, I know my readers will feel exactly the same way.

One thought on “The Hypnotic World of DCYE

Leave a Reply

